These seven countries now use the EU’s COVID travel pass

Seven countries have started using the EU’s ‘digital COVID-19 certificate’ to facilitate movement across the bloc.

the The European Commission says seven Member States – Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Croatia and Poland – logged on to the portal and started issuing the first certificates. Other countries will follow suit when all functions are rolled out nationwide, he added.

The certificate is available free of charge in digital or paper form. The gateway provides access to QR codes for all certificates.

The EU’s plan is to put in place a single system to facilitate safe travel by verifying the pass holder’s coronavirus status – whether through vaccination, a recent negative test result or proof of recovery. virus.

More than 20 countries have successfully tested the system over the past month, according to the European Commission. The launch follows an agreement between the European Parliament and the Council on regulations.

Alberto Alemanno, professor of European law at HEC Paris, told Euronews the system will test cooperation between EU countries, as many have sought to enforce their own traffic rules amid the pandemic . “You have to remember that the conditions of access to obtain this certificate will change from one country to another. It is up to each country to determine who is vaccinated, who is tested … who will be declared immune, ”he says.

“Each country reserves the right to refuse the COVID certificate as such. This could in fact be the source of a lot of confusion and unpredictability.”

The European Commission aims to ensure that 70% of the 450 million inhabitants of the block have received at least one dose of the vaccine by the end of July.

Commission chief Ursula von der Leyen said on Wednesday that the EU was on track to meet this target with more than 250 million doses administered to date. Over 80 million Europeans have been fully immunized.

Brussels has also previously indicated that fully vaccinated people from third countries should be able to visit the Old Continent without a quarantine requirement provided they have received EU-approved vaccines.

The European watchdog has approved the use of four vaccines by Pfizer / BioNTech, AstraZeneca / Oxford University, Moderna and Johnson & Johnson.

According to Our World In Data, over 38 percent of the EU population has received at least one dose of vaccine, compared to 50.3 percent in the US, 57.7 percent in Canada, 58.1 percent percent in the UK and 63 percent in Israel.

Source link

About Guillermo Russell

Guillermo Russell

Check Also

EU lifts ban on US travelers: NPR

People enjoy the May sun from the café terraces of the Grand Place in Brussels. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *